It’s that time again

After traveling to Japan, adjusting to time zones and tough training- it’s that time again. World Team qualifiers start in 5 days in Salt Lake. It has been a bit of a struggle to get to this point, but I’m healthy and ready to go for these trials. It will start off with two time trials, 1500m, 500m, 1000m and finish with the 3,000m. The racing starts Thursday so be sure to look for updates or live feed. Oh, and it also Christmas time again; I hope you all are getting your Xmas shopping done early.

 

This week has been a little tough on all fronts. It started off with getting my passport renewed for the upcoming world cups. I had a doctors appointment to get my staples removed from my shin. Followed by two-a-days on the ice (two ice sessions, morning and afternoon) and more training. We never got a break in our training because of the competition. Also, many people have been getting sick at the oval and are continuing to train. It’s a tough task training your body to be at peak performance. But it’s the life of a speed-skater and that is to be expected.

this is what a blade to the shin looks like!

this is what a blade to the shin looks like!

Last world cup I had a little incident. The 1500m B final was pretty stacked with a lot of good skaters. As I made a pass on the outside with 4 laps to go, I was kicked in the shin. The blade bounced off my shin guard and went underneath it somehow. When all was said and done, I finished the race with a hole in my leg. With all the adrenaline, I didn’t really feel any pain in my shin. My mom will be pleased to hear that the doctors did a great job disinfecting and treating the wound. But the man who put in the staples didn’t have much experience and had to redo one of them.
The good news is my shin healed up nicely. There were no complications and there should be no bad scaring. The blade went in next to the shin bone, so it didn’t actually hit the bone. To top it all off, my skinsuit wasn’t even scratched! I also had cut-proof Kevlar underneath my skinsuit, also unscratched. You would think they would have holes in them from the blade. I’ll spare you the image of the actual cut, ah what the heck!

open wound

There are also a few good treats that I left Nagoya with. I failed to post a few of the sushi photos I took. Feast your eyes on this…

No-shave-nov.

The beard was coming in nicely, but it had to go

Hotel Castle Plaza Nagoya

Merry Christmas!

Mochi  octopus sushi shrimp pastry

One thought on “It’s that time again

  1. I’m glad to see your wound is healing nicely. I hope the picture was taken before the stapling was done ??? Can’t wait to see you in two days. Keep taking the Vit. C/zinc and
    drinking a ton of water. Love you.

Leave a Reply

